Figures checked on

Madrid, ES · 11 months

IE MBA: cost, salary and payback

An 11-month Madrid MBA whose graduates split almost evenly between technology, finance and consulting, at €89,900 in tuition.

School

IE

Gross, per year

Whole program

Not published: type yours

Not published: type yours

Paid back after graduation in

salary not published

Total cost $184,423

Tuition and fees, whole program$101,923
Living budget$0
Salary given up, 11 months$82,500
Total cost$184,423
Salary after: salarynot published

US dollars at the ECB rate of the last update. Raises of 5% a year with the MBA and 3% without, discounted at 5%, before tax. The school publishes no living budget: the figure above is yours. How this is calculated.

Fees and budget read on October 13, 2026 · employment: latest report (school standard) · Built by Radif Partners · Method

Tuition and fees
€91,100
Total cost, salary given up included
n/a
Salary
not published
Payback, reference person
not computable

IE Business School charges €89,900 in tuition for its International MBA, the same price for the 11-month format and the longer option, plus a one-off €1,200 contribution to the IE Foundation at enrolment, for $101,923 at the ECB rate. Two figures every other line depends on are missing from the school's pages. IE publishes no living budget for MBA students, only a list of monthly cost ranges for rent, food and transport in Madrid, and it publishes no graduate salary. So this page cannot show a total cost for a person earning $90,000, nor a payback date, and our ranking cannot place the school. What IE does publish is a sector split with unusual balance: 21.8% of graduates went into technology, 21.4% into finance and 18.3% into consulting. The class is 92% international, from 57 countries, with about 6 years of experience on average.

Three sectors within a few points of each other

IE's career outcomes block has no dominant destination: technology 21.8%, finance 21.4%, consulting 18.3%, then energy & industrial products 7%, consumer, luxury and retail 5.5%, global impact 2.7%. By role, sales roles lead at 18.4%, just ahead of consulting roles at 18.0%. The employers named include Amazon, McKinsey & Company, Bain & Company, Uber, KPMG and BCG.

The block has limits worth knowing. It does not state the graduating year, gives no breakdown by country or region, and no salary for any sector. The shares are printed to two decimals, yet the school gives no count of respondents to judge them by. With no region data, the page cannot tell you how many graduates stay in Spain; with 92% of the class from abroad, many will not.

The class is also experienced: about 6 years of work on average, more than at 26 of the 54 schools on this site that publish the figure. More experience usually means a higher salary before the MBA, and a higher salary given up during it, so the reference person earning $90,000 may understate what an IE student actually forgoes.

The salary you give up while you study

Salary given up, net of the internship

$157,500

Gross salary not earned$157,500
Per month away$7,500

Pension contributions and raises you would have had are not counted here.

Add it to a school’s cost →

Building your own living budget for Madrid

The university's student services list monthly ranges for a room in a shared apartment or a studio, groceries, transport, private health insurance, internet and water, without a total and without an MBA-specific figure. The calculator at the top of this page leaves the living budget field blank for IE: type the sum of your own monthly costs times 11, then add the salary you expect after the degree. Payment plans with many instalments carry a small administration fee, and scholarships, loans and merit awards exist but with no published amount.

The nearest comparison is IESE in Barcelona, which charges €117,000 for a two-year program, €27,100 more than IE before counting the second year of living costs and lost salary. The IESE and IE comparison sets the two side by side, and the one-year MBA ranking lists the short programs that publish enough to be ranked.

IE: where the class went

Share of the class

18.3%

Salary reportednot published
Graduates, aboutn/a
Payback with that salaryn/a

Reference person earning $90,000 before the MBA.

Rank every school on this goal →

Where IE stands in our rankings

Not ranked: IE does not publish a living budget for students or a graduate salary, which our ranking needs. Its cost is complete above.

Our fit score, reference person earning $90,000 before the MBA (method). Third-party rankings play no part in it. For reference, IE was ranked 21 in the FT Global MBA 2026.

What the IE MBA costs

Whole program as published by the school, current tuition (reviewed annually; intake year not stated); US dollars at the ECB rate of October 13, 2026.
ItemEUR, and US dollars
Tuition, whole program€89,900 $100,580
Mandatory fees€1,200 $1,343
Living budgetnot published

IE graduates by industry

Share of graduates who accepted a job (or of the reported class); salaries as published, median unless marked average.
Industry, as the school names itShareSalary
Other + Diversified Industries + Architecture/Urbanism/Real Estate/ Design + Legal Services23.3%not published
Technology21.8%not published
Finance21.4%not published
Consulting18.3%not published
Energy & Industrial Products7%not published
Consumer, Luxury and Retail5.5%not published
Global Impact2.7%not published

IE graduates by job function

As reported by the school.
FunctionShareSalary
Sales Roles18.4%not published
Consulting Roles18.0%not published
Finance Roles17.1%not published
Strategy Roles14.7%not published
Operations Roles11.4%not published
Marketing Roles10.2%not published
Tech Roles3.7%not published
Academic roles1.2%not published
Architecture, Real Estate & Design Roles0.8%not published
Entrepreneurship Roles0.8%not published

Employers named by IE

Amazon · McKinsey & Company · Bain & Company · Uber · KPMG · BCG · J.P. Morgan · Salesforce · Google · PwC

Names only: the school gives no hire counts.

The IE class

Latest class profile, as published by the school.
MeasureValue
International students92%
Women33%
Average age29
Average years of work experience6
Nationalities57

Not published by IE in the documents we read: a living budget for students; a graduate salary; where graduates went to work. We leave these blank rather than fill them with an estimate.

Questions applicants ask

How much does the IE International MBA cost?

Tuition is €89,900 for the 11-month or the longer format, plus a one-off €1,200 foundation contribution, about $101,923 in all. IE publishes no living budget for Madrid, so living costs and the salary you give up must be added from your own figures in the calculator.

What salary do IE MBA graduates earn?

IE does not publish a graduate salary on its pages, for any sector or year. Figures quoted elsewhere come from third-party surveys, which we do not reuse. Without a salary, no payback can be computed for the reference person earning $90,000; type your expected salary after the MBA in the calculator to get your own.

Which industries hire IE MBA graduates?

Technology took 21.8% of graduates, finance 21.4% and consulting 18.3%, with energy at 7% and consumer goods at 5.5%. The school names Amazon, McKinsey & Company, Bain & Company and Uber among its recruiters. It does not state the graduating year of these figures or the number of respondents.

Keep comparing

Documents behind this page

Published by

Publisher of an MBA return calculator built on the employment reports of each business school

Figures checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

A model, not a promise: salaries are what a past class reported to its school, costs are the school’s published fees and budget, and growth, discount rate and the salary you give up are assumptions you can change. Scholarships, taxes, visas and your own offer move the result. Every figure is an estimate, not financial advice, and it does not replace the school’s own admissions and financial aid offices.

Fees, budgets and employment reports for 2026, read in the schools’ own documents on